Best of Show

Pierce Arrow BOS awards stage


2017 Best of Show Winners

The 1928 Auburn 8-88 Speedster of Richard and Helen Harding won Best of Show in 2017. Radnor Hunt would like to congratulate Richard and Helen as earlier in 2017 their 8-88 also received the AACA’s highest honor, their Zenith Award.

Frank and Morris Eckhart of the Eckhart Carriage Company were responsible for founding the Auburn Automobile Company in 1900. By 1903 they produced their first car. The company was hit hard by the postwar depression and was facing insolvency by 1924. Enter Errett Loban Cord. By 1926 he became president of Auburn; later buying the famous Duesenberg marque as his crowning jewel. A young designer named Alan Leamy, arriving at Duesenberg when he was just 25 years old, was the man responsible for penning the limited production Speedster model, like this Navajo Red and Black example, when he was just 28 years old.

The 1983 Lancia-Abarth Rally 037 by Pininfarina of John and Suzanne Campion won Best of Show Sporting Marque in 2017.

The Lancia Rally Tipo 151, also known as the Rally 037 or Lancia Abarth 037 (from its Abarth project code) was a mid-engine sports and rally car built by Lancia in the early 1980’s to compete in the FIA World Rally Championship. In the 1983 season, the Rally 037 became the last rear-wheel drive car to win in the WRC. This car is an Evo2 model and was first registered in November 1983. Car #411 garnered numerous wins and podium finishes while wearing many liveries. A 450hp 1.8-litre supercharged 4-cylinder engine provides motivation.

2016 Best of Show Winners

The 1931 Marmon Sixteen Convertible Sedan by LeBaron of Richard Driehaus and Chicago Vintage Motor Carriage won Best of Show.

Howard Carpenter Marmon’s swan song was to offer one of two production V-16 engines offered by an automobile manufacturer; the other being Cadillac. A superbly crafted unit of aluminum and light alloy, it boasted the largest displacement of any engine on the market, yet was lighter than most eight cylinder engines. At 200hp, it was nearly the equal of the Duesenberg Eight while surpassing both it and the Cadillac V-16 in torque output. Available in one of eight standard body styles, the Sixteen was styled by Walter Dorwin Teague, Sr. with bodies built by LeBaron. Just 390 were produced over three years including this car which was once owned by Briggs Cunningham.

The 1958 Ferrari 250 LWB “Tour de France” Competizione Berlinetta, Scaglietti of Roy Brod won the Best of Show Sporting Marque.

Beginning in 1956, Ferrari built a competition version of its 250GT; the first of the series was crafted by Carrozzeria Scaglietti earning the moniker “Tour de France” – a race won by Ferrari each year from 1956-1964. Dr. Brod’s car is one of 77 long-wheelbase berlinettas built of which 37, like his, have single vent louvres on the rear pillars. It was delivered new to Giovanni Ghersi in Italy who raced it in numerous hill climbs. Several European owners, including Edmund Pery campaigned the car in historic races at the Nurburgring, among others. Four times it has participated in the historic Mille Miglia. It was restored in 2008-2010 by Ferrari Classiche in Maranello, Italy.

2015 Best of Show

The 1934 Pierce Arrow 840A Convertible Sedan by LeBaron of Charles Gillet won Best of Show, and the 1932 Alfa Romeo 8C 2300 Spider Touring of Gordon Barrett won the Best of Show Sporting Marque.

2014 Best of Show

The 1933 Chrysler CL Imperial 5-Passenger Phaeton of Joseph Cassini was awarded Best of Show and the 1954 Maserati A6G-2000 Zagato Spider of Oscar Davis won Best of Show Sporting Marque.

2013 Best of Show

The 1928 Isotta Fraschini Tipo 8AS Convertible Coupe of Peter Boyle won Best of Show, and the 1957 Ferrari Boano Sestriere Rally Coupe of Lammot DuPont won the Best Sporting Marque of Show.

2010 Best of Show

1932 Packard Model 902 Sport Phaeton
Presented by Frank Buck.

Best in Show In 2010 was awarded to the 1932 Packard 902 Sport Phaton of Frank Buck, while the Timeless Elegance award went to the 1934 Rolls Royce Phantom II Continental Drop Head Coupe with body by Mulliner of Morton Bullock.